Tuesday, May 30, 2023
HomeMetroLagos police arrests 58 miscreants, vows to sanitise Island

Lagos police arrests 58 miscreants, vows to sanitise Island


Stanley Ihedigbo


Lagos State Police Command has intensified efforts to sanitise and restore normalcy to the Agarawu, Ita Faaji, Igbosere and other areas on the Lagos Island which have been under the siege of miscreants and gangsters.

They  despatched a team of different force operatives  and other local security outfits, under the command of ACP Bode Ojajuni, the Area Commnader Area A, Lion Building, to go after the bad boys in the areas which eventually led to the arrest of 58 suspects.

According to the State Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO), CSP Olumuyiwa Adejobi, the miscreants and gangsters in the areas have severally attacked and damaged peoples properties while some allegedly lost their lives to their various criminal activities.

“The Commissioner of Police, CP Hakeem Odumosu, has deemed it necessary and imperative to raise a formidable team to carry out sting operations on the island to restore normalcy to the affected areas.

“The suspects arrested included: Sikiru Kareem (Elderly person);  Kamal Olatoyinbo (Elderly Person); Sulaimon Alaga (Elderly Person); Musa Alidu (Elderly Person); Amadu Chidi; Abass Saliu;  Gafar Ambali; Oriyomi Adeyemi; Suleiman Sale;  Ojo Junior; Abayomi Ogunleye; Alhassan Abdulahi and Kazeem Olagbajumo.

Also, Rilwan Salau; Wajud Taiwo; Suleiman Adewale; Wahab Azeez; Adam Oluwole;  Solomon Segun;  Wahab Korede; Micheal Oladeji; Gafar Mustapha Adeniy; Oluwatobu Senu; Afeez Sulaimon;  Surajudeen Jimoh;  Adamu Ahmed; Nojeem Ajayi and  Yusuf Lawal.

“As well as,  Akanbi Quadri; Afeez Shodimu; Monday Joseph; Adigun Yahaya;  Yusuf Salisu;  Nuhu Umar;  Abbey Sholola;  Benjamin Charlie;  Amen Daniel;  Samuel Igogboye;  Tony Nwokeji; and Ibrahim Usman. Other suspects are, Sulaiman Rasak; Haliru Abdulahi; Usman Mohammed; Yusuf Ayinde; Lekan Salisu; Abubakar Ibrahim;  Yusuf Musa; Michael Francis; Abashin Rasheed;  Saheed Dauda;  Njokwu Ogonna;  Njokwu Chinemenem and Chinanso Okechukwu.  Five females among them are,  Sharon Egiri;  Idris Jumoke; Nike Idris; Adewale Adeola and  Damilola Omoniyi,” he stated.

The PPRO added that C has directed that the suspects be transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti, Yaba for proper investigation and prosecution.

“He also warned and assured that the command will not relent on its oars in making sure that the Lagos Island and the state generally are free of gangsterism, hooliganism and crimes,” Adejobi said.

More Articles...

Related stories

Okowa: Why I rejected Ibori’s candidate as my successor

Ifeanyi Okowa, the immediate past governor of Delta, has...

CAN congratulates Tinubu on ‘momentous’ inauguration

The Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) has congratulated President...